May Book

posted Apr 28, 2015, 3:05 PM by Tri-Valley Community Library   [ updated Apr 28, 2015, 3:06 PM ]
Our next book club meeting is on Monday, May 4, at 7:30 p.m. We'll be discussing The Razor's Edge by Somerset Maugham.  Molly will bring suggestions and a snack.  I'll let you know when Razor's Edge arrives.

NOTE:  There is a copy of June's book is The Speed of Dark by Elizabeth Moon on ListenAlaska, and it's currently available. I'm also requesting copies through ILL. From BookList In the tradition of Flowers for Algernon, Moon's thought-provoking novel asks whether we treat impairments of the brain at too great a cost. Lou Arrendale is a young autistic living in a future time, when most of the symptoms of autism can be controlled through medication. Lou lives on his own, works full time at a job where his abilities to recognize patterns are valued, and socializes with nonautistics during his weekly fencing class. Although baffled by the complex social signals and subtle facial cues of nonautistics, Lou is content with himself as he is--until he falls in love with Marjory. When his supervisor pressures him to try an experimental treatment that will eradicate his autism, Lou must decide whether the benefits of life as a "normal" will outweigh the possible loss of the unique qualities that make him who he is. Moon is effective at putting the reader inside Lou's mind, and it is both fascinating and painful to see the behavior and qualities of so-called normals through his eyes.

Read on, Amanda
Comments